Middle Brother - Middle Brother

Regular price $10.00

The debut record from John McCauley, Matt Vasquez and Taylor Goldsmith’s project Middle Brother.

In a time when synthesizers and laptops were taking over stages, Goldsmith, McCauley and Vasquez were leading the pack of young rock songwriters who were more interested in carrying on the tradition of figures like Neil Young, Bruce Springsteen, and Tom Petty. Their songs are anthemic, soulful, passionate and confessional.

Recorded in Nashville during 2009, when the three songsmiths realized, after several on-stage collaborations, that they shared a unique vision and wanted to take it one step further - into the studio. With additional appearances from Jonny Corndawg and Jason Isbell, these songs capture the effortless and diligent songwriting of each contributor at the beginning of long and budding careers for Dawes, Deer Tick and Delta Spirit. 

The 12 tracks on Middle Brother are the result of their off-the-cuff yet diligent workshop experience. The songs are world-class, and the performances raw and immediate as each member pushed the other to bring the best of what they do to the table. The record captures a potent moment in time for these three burgeoning song-writing stars who are just beginning to feel the real power in their respective talents. They are confident, but not resolute and stuck, and more importantly are willing to explore each other’s ideas as they work towards the common ideal of the redemptive power of the song.

01. Daydreaming
02. Blue Eyes
03. Thanks For Nothing
04. Middle Brother
05. Theater
06. Portland
07. Wilderness
08. Me Me Me
09. Someday
10. Blood And Guts
11. Mom And Dad
12. Million Dollar Bill

Standard Black Vinyl includes Digital Download Card.

Released March 1, 2011.